This snapshot, taken on
, shows web content acquired for preservation by The National Archives. External links, forms and search may not work in archived websites and contact details are likely to be out of date.
The UK Government Web Archive does not use cookies but some may be left in your browser from archived websites.

A new UK Government took office on 11 May. As a result the content on this site may not reflect current Government policy.
All statutory guidance and legislation published on this site continues to reflect the current legal position unless indicated otherwise. To view the new Department for Education website, please go to

Jump to content

Login / Register to keep updated

Register here
Forgot password?

Glossary Term

National curriculum levels

All pupils undergo national tests and teacher assessments at ages 7, 11 and 14. Test and assessment results are reported to parents as levels rather than raw marks. The levels define whether the pupil is working at the expected standard for their age, above or below it. The range of levels within which the majority of pupils are expected to work are: Key Stage 1, Levels 1 - 3; Key Stage 2, Levels 2 - 5; Key Stage 3, Levels 3 - 7.

Return to glossary...